Family · Food · Homestead · Nebraska · Recipe · tacos

Layer Taco bake

So I am not a good meal planner. It usually gets to be about 5pm and I realize I didn’t take anything from my freezer for food, I didn’t plan anything and I had no ideas what to make. So when it’s just my daughter and I this was never a big deal because she was usually happy with whatever I found that I could quickly make even if it was just pancakes. However my husband wants real food as he calls it or meat and potatoes.

Today was one of those days though. I had been to the dentist this morning and this afternoon we had our counseling session with our pastor. As soon as I left there I had to rush back to our small town to get our daughter from school. Than my son wanted to nurse and then my husband came home from getting and dropping off parts and now it is closer to 5:15 and that’s right nothing. 

I have nothing out and no idea what to make. So I go on the Pinterest and start my normal quick meal ideas and came across one that looked good but I didn’t have what was needed so I altered it to fit what I already had and I came up with this…

Layered Taco Bake

It is supper simple and easy to make. Here is what the ingredients are:

  • 1-1.5 lbs ground beef
  • 1 can black beans drained
  • 1 can pinto beans drained
  • 1 shallot or small onion
  • 4 garlic cloves pureed/smashed/finely chopped
  • 1tsp olive oil
  • Taco seasoning
  • 3 Tablespoons Taco sauce or enchiladas sauce or tomatoes sauce will work too
  • Shredded cheese
  • 6 taco shells medium size
  • Tator Tots

First you will want to cramelize​ your shallot or onions in the oil after a few minutes add in the garlic. Once those are cooked add in the ground beef. Once the ground beef is cooked you can now mix in the beans seasoning and which ever sauce you choose. I had taco sauce so that is what I used but the other should work just as well. 

You will need a 9×13 pan layer the shells on the bottom of the pan.

On top the shells do a layer of shredded cheese. I used flour white and wheat cause it is what I had.

Then pure your mixture over it. And add another layer of shredded cheese.

Now place your tator tots ontop. They don’t have to be as nice as mine but an even layer will help them cook nicely.

Put it in the oven for about 350 degree f. For about 20 minutes. At this point take it out and add in the final layer of cheese ontop.


Can you tell my family likes cheese. If you like less you can exclude the bottom or middle layers I highly suggest keeping the top. Cook for only about 5 more minutes and it comes out Al yummy looking

You can garnish with thing like scallions, cilontro, or sour cream.

My husband is not a big taco fan but he ate two servings of this and my daughter cleaned her plate. It was actually very good. I hope you enjoy.
I am also asking that you consider reading this and at least sharing the story for me. My family could use all the help it can get right now.

Medically Sound Home

Leave a Reply

